About the Tanzania Library Services Board

The Tanzania Library Services Board (TLSB) formerly known as Tanganyika Library Services Board is a parastatal organization under the Ministry of Education and Vocational Training. The Board was established by an Act of Parliament No. 39 of 1963. This Act was repealed through Act No. 6 of 1975 which enlarged the functions of the Board including: to develop libraries, train librarians, control of national bibliography and promoting literacy campaign.


TLSB has a network of 43 service points scattered all over Tanzania mainland. These services points include 22 regional libraries, 19 district libraries and 2 divisional libraries. The concerned libraries share experiences, expertise and library materials for the improvement of library services. Also with the guidance of TLSB 2020/2021 - 2024/2025 Strategic Plan and the Local Government Reform Measures of 1997, the inspiration of TLSB is to collaborate with Local and Municipal Authorities and establish public libraries in all districts within Tanzania mainland by 2025.

Print this page